Lord’s Prayer

We help out at the kid’s soup kitchen the three days of the week it is open – Mondays, Wednesdays, and Saturdays. First we play, read or color. Next we wash our hands and line up for lunch. Once seated, everyone says the Lord’s Prayer followed by the Hail Mary.

Playing frisbee at the comedor

Maybe I’m just a fan of routines, but if I’m not careful that ball of emotion rises up and tickles me from within my chest when listening to this prayer and looking at all the lovely rugrats who are now (usually) calm and behaving themselves. I’m not even Catholic but I love it.

Comedor Kids

I love the rhythm. I love how the kids stumble around but then come in strong on the “Santa María, Madre de Dios” part. I love how without even meaning to, I’m memorizing the prayer in Spanish, recognizing the lilt of the phrases. I can guess that in the future the sound of this prayer will send me back to the soup kitchen of Yuty, Paraguay.

I captured the prayer on video, so welcome to the comedor. The words they’re saying are written below.

Padre nuestro, que estás en el cielo,

santificado sea tu Nombre;

venga a nosotros tu reino;

hágase tu Voluntad

así en la tierra como en el cielo.

Danos hoy nuestro pan de cada día;

perdona nuestras ofensas

así como nosotros perdonamos

a los que nos ofenden;

no nos dejes caer en la tentación,

y líbranos del mal.

Dios te salve, María, llena eres de gracia,

el Señor es contigo.

Bendita tú eres entre todas las mujeres,

y bendito es el fruto de tu vientre, Jesús.

Santa María, Madre de Dios,

ruega por nosotros, pecadores,

ahora y en la hora de nuestra muerte.

Amen.

4 thoughts on “Lord’s Prayer

Drop us a line; we love hearing from you!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

