Practice Makes

We’ve been practicing a lot lately. We practice using new languages, practice giving presentations about anything from HIV/AIDS to writing a business plan, and we practiced being real volunteers during a 4-day visit to a current volunteer’s site, known in the Peace Corps world as Long Field Practice.

We traveled with our language classes so I went to the big city of Caaguazu while Isaiah checked out the smaller Iturbe. His group was kept busy cooking banana bread with a women’s group, reading books at a local elementary school, giving a charla, or presentation, to a combined group from 5 high schools, touring the local sugar factory, and in general checking out the town.

My group completed a range of activities including interviewing folks at the local municipality to get an idea of services offered, dancing with a group of good-humored ladies named “La Mejor Edad” or The Best Age, and teaching a lesson to a classroom of energetic 7th graders about the importance of volunteerism.

After all that great practice using Spanish, not to mention living with a host family on my own for the first time, my confidence with the language took a big step forward. It also made me very ready to get to a site of my own!

Speaking of, we had our second interview yesterday about what we’d like in our future site. Now the team of placement pickers goes to town matching all the volunteers to the sites in Paraguay who have requested the work of a Peace Corps Volunteer. They take into account our preferences on things like the size of our community, skills we bring to the table, what would most benefit our future site, as well as what type of work the site is requesting.

Isaiah and I expressed preferences like thinking a smaller town would be a good fit for us, but overall are feeling pretty flexible about where we get placed. After all, we are going wherever we go together so anywhere with each other can be home sweet home.

But I’m still super excited to hear about where I’ll be spending the next two years of my life. We only have to wait until next Wednesday, which is when they make the big announcement, so stay tuned!

12 thoughts on “Practice Makes

  1. I was wondering when you would find out your two-year placement. It will be fun to hear what you will be doing!

  2. Great to hear about what’s happening with you! Glad the language study is coming along! We will be interested in knowing where you will be and what you will be doing for your two year placement! I’ve got a new job…..I’ll be working as a social worker at Oaknoll Retirement Residence, starting August 8. I went on a tour today and saw they have a ping pong table. Please tell Isaiah I’m going to practice and practice while he is gone so I can take him on at the Brenneman Christmas gathering in a couple of years!!

    • Give it what you’ve got, Dianne. There are rumors of ping pong tables in this fair land, though I have yet to see one. Rest assured that I’m going to do my darndest to get back my candlestick trophy when we meet again.

      Congrats on the new job by the way! Great to hear from you.

  3. I love that anywhere with each other can be home sweet home! It will be exciting to hear where you will be going and what you will be doing!

  4. I’m crossing my fingers you guys get a good one! 😉

    (My fingers are crossed even while I’m packing for my move, which can be pretty painful.)

      • Yeah, sure you do… 😉

        It’s Aug. 4. Less than 2 weeks and I leave Indiana behind. Kind of bittersweet or whatnot.

Drop us a line; we love hearing from you!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

